Upper School News

Fifteen seniors, more than a third of their class and the most of any class in recent memory, are beginning their 13th year at Saint George's School.  Congratulations to these Dragons who started here in Kindergarten -- the Math Dept. figures they will have spent 2,340 days at Saint George's by the time they graduate next spring!

13-Year Seniors:  Sydney Bledsoe, Shayden Brown, Nicole Cook, Paul Darnall, Kelsey Doughty, Kylie Doughty, John Michael Field, Alex Gustafson, Audrey Harrill, Reagan Ivey, Addy Lennemann, Nico Morales, Erika Piotrowski, Cambrie Rickard, and Zadie Rigsby.  Go Dragons!

Saint George's was not able to hold a traditional awards ceremony in the spring for the 2019-2020 academic and kindness award winners.  "We plan to have a face to face event at some point in the future," says US Head Francesca Mulazzi.  "In the meantime, please join me in congratulating the following students for their awards."
Harvard Book Award: Jiepu (Yoyo) Yang
Wellesley Book Award: Gabrielle Cunningham
Bowdoin Book Award: Zadie Rigsby
Williams College Book Award: Nicolas Morales
George Washington University Book Award: Alexandra Dixon
Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute Gold Medal Award for Excellence in Math and Science: Jake Gliniak
Frederick Douglass and Susan B. Anthony Award in the Humanities & Social Sciences: Erika Piotrowski
M. Poutiatine Award - Outdoor Excellence: Aidan Reichel
Community Service Club: Carolyn Wolff
Excellence in English: Chaitanya Nalluri
Excellence in World Languages - English Learners: Yufan (Celia) Zhao
Excellence in World Languages - Spanish: Gabrielle Cunningham
Excellence in History: Wenqing (Winnie) Wu
Excellence in Economics: John DeForest
Excellence in Science: Alec Bunn
Excellence in Mathematics: Jiahui (Henry) Xu
Excellence in Art: Sydney Bledsoe
Excellence in Music: Ethan Wu
The Katy Reeves Performing Arts Award: Reagan Ivey
Engineering Inspiration Award: Tristan Krzyzanek
Tammy Dix PE Award: Lilly Glennie
The Michael M. McCarthy Speech and Debate Award: Gabrielle Cunningham
Cum Laude Society: Gabrielle Cunningham, John DeForest, Alec Bunn, and Chaitanya Nalluri
Kindness Award Grade 9: Lilly Glennie
Kindness Award Grade 10: Chase Foster
Kindness Award Grade 11: Aidan Reichel

Twenty members of the Class of 2020 have earned the International Baccalaureate Diploma based on their scores in IB subject tests.  The average score of those who received the IB Diploma was 30, while the highest IB Diploma score by an SGS student was 38.  These 20, and many of their classmates, earned academic credit at colleges across the country with their IB test scores.  Congratulations to all 20 for successfully completing the most rigorous high school diploma program in the world!

Monday, August 31 through Thursday, Sept. 3 was Orientation Week for the Upper School, with students from each grade coming on a different day to meet their teachers, learn how to submit assignments, and generally prepare for Distance Learning this fall.  See photo galleries of the 12th Graders, the 11th Graders, the 10th Graders, and the 9th Graders in a variety of classes, locations and activities throughout their Orientation Days. 

Members of the Class of 2020 received a number of departmental senior awards and honors this summer.  These included:

The Gertrude W. Cadzow Music Award: Bennett Clark
The Corlin I. Cullen World Languages Award: Callie Gee
The Elisabeth H. Gemberling English Award: Miya Jacobs
The Clare W. Gilbert Art Award: Yue (Krystal) Huang
The John A. Hern Jr. Mathematics Award: Sarah Wu
The Hannah L. Joss Social Studies Award: Marshall Roll
The Alexander R. MacKay Jr. Science Award: Sydney Lennemann
The Patrick R. Neils Drama Award: Rongyi (Caroline) He
The Jonathan McClain Die Hard Awards: Mary Bade & Maria Madero
World Language Honorable Mention: Caleb Flegel
Kindness Award: Grace Harrill
Athletes of the Year: Lydia Bergquist, Grace Harrill & Daniel Rigsby

In addition, two honors announced at Graduation were the Head of School Cup to Marshall Roll and the Alumni Asssociation Service Award to Lucy Yan.  See all of the graduating seniors' awards and honors, as well as the colleges and universities they are headed to, in the 2020 Graduation Program on the website.

Each Upper School grade began their Orientation Day with a "socially distanced" gathering on Graduation Lawn and an activity to help them get to know new friends and catch up with old friends after a spring and summer apart.  See photo galleries of the 12th Graders' outside activity, the 11th Graders, the 10th Graders, and the 9th Graders.  It was great to be back on campus together!

Monday, August 31 through Thursday, Sept. 3 was Orientation Week for the Upper School.  Each day, the students posed for First Day of School photos before starting their classes.  See photo galleries of the incoming 12th Graders on Aug. 31, the 11th Graders on Sept. 1, the 10th Graders on Sept. 2, and the 9th Graders on Sept. 3.  Welcome back, Dragons! 

Members of the Class of 2020 recorded "Thank You" messages to the teachers at Saint George's who have taught them over the years.  See their Thank You Video (compiled by Kristi McKethen) on the SGS YouTube Channel.

Congratulations to the Associated Student Body officers for the 2020-21 school year.  The new Chief of Staff is current junior John DeForest, the President/Vice President team is sophomores Jasmine Brown and Maddy Roberts.  See ASB Advisor Mark Rickard's Announcement of the results and comments on the virtual campaign that all the candidates ran.  Each candidate recorded a video campaign speech and reached out to students via social media.  Elections are possible in a pandemic!

Three SGS seniors have won scholarships in the Spokane Scholars recognition.  Congratulations to Sarah Wu, who was 3rd in Mathematics for a $2,000 scholarship, and to Marshall Roll, who was 2nd in English, for a $3,000 scholarship.  Special honors to Kathryn Moon, who was the top Social Studies student in the Spokane area and will receive a $4,000 scholarship.  See the Spokane Scholars Announcement Video for more information about the scholarship winners.  (Marshall is at the 5:43 mark of the video, Sarah at the 13:47 mark, and Kathryn is at the 25:51 mark.)  Go Dragons!

Page 1 | Page 2 | Page 3 | Page 4