SGS Banner

Faculty & Staff Awards Announced at Assembly

An assembly of the entire school on Monday, Nov. 21 celebrated Saint George’s award-winning teachers and staff. Congratulations to the following recipients:

Fred Gilbert Distinguished Teaching Award

  • Happy Avery, Director of College Counseling & US Humanities Teacher

Harvey W. Clarke Award For Excellence In Teaching

  • Erika Mullins, LS K-1 Co-Teacher

The Jim Stecher Staff Excellence Awards

  • Melissa Hernandez, Instructional Technology Specialist
  • Tracy Gonser, Executive Assistant to the Head of School & Registrar

The biggest award, the Hannah Joss Fellowship Award, went to Upper School history teacher David Holte. “Throughout my career in schools, I’ve always drifted toward history, geology, and the outdoors,” says Holte, who graduated from SGS in 2001. With the $6,000 stipend that comes with the Joss Award, Holte plans to design a course curriculum for students to immerse themselves in the history and geology of the western United States. Part would focus on the American Southwest’s geology, the history of that region, and touch on major developments including the collapse of societies and climate change. “I’d also hope to create a similar curriculum for the immediate area using central and eastern Washington as an area of focus,” he says, including both the geology of the scablands area and the history of the 1910 Great Burn in the area between Wallace and Avery, Idaho.

Congratulations to all of the award recipients!